Continence Aids Payment Scheme (CAPS)

The CAPS is an Australian Government Scheme that provides a payment to assist eligible people who have permanent and severe incontinence to meet some of the costs of their incontinence products. The payment is made by Medicare directly into a client’s nominated bank account.

An applicant is eligible for CAPS if the applicant is five years of age or older and meets either one of the following requirements:

  • The applicant has permanent and severe loss of bladder and / or bowel function (incontinence) due directly to an eligible neurological condition.

  • The applicant has permanent and severe loss of bladder and / or bowel function (incontinence) caused by an eligible other condition, provided the applicant has a Centrelink or DVA Pensioner Concession Card entitlement.

Applicants with incontinence caused by eligible neurological conditions listed under any of the following categories are eligible for the CAPS. Applicants with an eligible neurological condition do not require a Centrelink or DVA Pensioner Concession Card provided they meet other CAPS eligibility criteria.

List of the eligible neurological conditions in their categories:

Category 1

  • Spina Bifida and Syringomyelia.

Category 2

  • Cerebral Palsy.

Category 3

  • Intellectual Disability.

  • Congenital neurological infections.

  • Developmental Delay associated with;

    • Aspergers Syndrome.

    • Autism.

    • Autism Spectrum Disorder.

    • Down Syndrome.

    • Rare congenital neurological syndromes and conditions.

Category 4

  • Paraplegia and Quadriplegia.

Category 5

  • Acquired Neurological Conditions.

  • Acquired brain injury.

  • Alzheimer’s Disease.

  • Epilepsy.

  • Encephalitis.

  • Lewi Body Disease.

  • Pick’s Disease.

  • Poliomyelitis.

  • Stroke/Cerebrovascular Accident (CVA).

Category 6

  • Degenerative Neurological Disease.

  • Huntington Chorea / Disease.

  • Motor Neurone Disease.

  • Muscular Dystrophy.

  • Multiple Sclerosis.

  • Parkinson’s Disease.

Category 7

  • Bladder Innervation Disorders.

  • Ectopia Vesica.

  • Neurogenic Bladder.

  • Neuropathic Bladder.

List of the Eligible other conditions for CAPS

  • Anal Carcinoma.

  • Anal Fistula.

  • Anorectal Malformation.

  • Anterior Prolapse.

  • Bilateral Nephrostomy Tubes.

  • Bladder Cancer.

  • Bladder Instability.

  • Bladder Muscle Dysfunction.

  • Bladder Neck Dysfunction.

  • Bladder Neck Fibrosis.

  • Bladder Prolapse.

  • Bowel Cancer.

  • Bowel Prolapse.

  • Cervical Cancer.

  • Chronic Urinary Retention.

  • Congenital Epispadias.

  • Detrusor Instability.

  • Detrusor Overactivity.

  • Enterocutaneous Fistula.

  • Faecal Incontinence Post-Colectomy.

  • Hypertonic Bladder.

  • Imperforate Anus.

  • Irradiated Rectum / Radiation Proctitis.

  • Metastatic Ovarian Carcinoma.

  • Post Ileorectal Anastomosis.

  • Post Ileal J Pouch Anastomosis.

  • Posterior Urethral Valve Syndrome.

  • Prostate Cancer.

  • Prostate Disease.

  • Rectal Prolapse.

  • Rectal Ulcer Syndrome.

  • Severe Ulcerative Proctitis.

  • Spastic Bladder.

  • Transurethral Resection of the Prostate (TURP).

  • Urethral Stenosis.

  • Urinary Fistula.

  • Uterine Cancer.

  • Uterine Prolapse.

  • Vaginal Prolapse.

  • Vesico-Vaginal Fistula.

  • Vulva Cancer.

More information and forms can be found at the Website.